Naracoorte High School

Governing Council

The Naracoorte High School  Governing Council provides strong leadership around vision, strategy, compliance, risk management and financial sustainability to ensure that the School continues to be a leading South Australian education provider.

What do Governing Council Members do? Governing Council governs. This isn’t the same as managing. It’s more about guiding and setting direction. You don’t work alone when you are on a Council. You and the Site Leader have shared responsibilities. More details can be found at

Areas covered include:

Curriculum–provide advice to the site leader to make sure the curriculum offered meets local community needs

Student Management –consult with the site’s community to assist when policies are made or reviewed

Staff employment –employ canteen staff

Big Picture Planning –work on the site improvement plan and set strategic directions

Finance –review, approve and monitor the site budget

Reporting –endorse the Annual Report and report to the community and the Minister for Education

Vacancies are usually for a two year term, but can be a one year term. Meetings are held twice a term on a Wednesday from 6.30pm.

If you are interested in becoming part of this team please contact James McConnell – Principal, Margaret Rishworth – Business Manager or the Governing Council Chairperson.

Governing Council Members 2019

Chairperson: Andrew Shouksmith

Vice Chairperson: Liz Schroder

Treasurer: Amanda Edwards

Secretary: Leanne Shouksmith

Parent Representatives:

Andrea Henschke

Peter Ireland

Michelle Malone

Will Malone

Stephen Miles

Amanda Walker

Heidi Yelland

Student Representatives:

School Captains

Staff Representatives:

Bel Beggs

Sarah Edwards


John Harris

All content copyright © 2020 Naracoorte High School